Thinking of Competing. Any Advice?

I have been training for 10-11 years now, always with the aim of aesthetics, but have never competed in anything.

Looks like their is a UK South-West regional next April and I’m thinking about entering.

I’m not one to compete for competitions sake, I certainly want to be competitive.

Questions:

• Is 5/3/1, how I’m currently training, suitable / optimal for the run up to a competition.
  • Is 610kg (my total of PR’s, though not current lifts) a competitive total for a 90kg (198lb) Male.
  • The weight categories are 83kg, or 93kg. Is it worth my trying to cut 7kg or just over a stone to be more competitve, or will my lifts suffer more than the advantage is worth? It would be a relatively drastic cut, definitely to single digit bf%.

Any other advice is welcome.

Thanks.

You really can’t control how competitive you will be. It just depends om who turns up. Just go through the process and learn a bit (like if you want to bother again).

You don’t want to do this. Unless you’re a freak it will almost certainly impact your lifts.

Thanks for the feedback.

Appreciate can’t impact who else turns up, to clarify what I mean is I’m looking to maximize my own performance at the event.

I could ‘turn up’ to a meet next week, doesn’t mean I’d be prepared or happy with my performance.

In Beyond 5/3/1 isn’t there a peaking cycle offered? Something like:

(From PowerLiftingToWin)

"As you can see, the peaking plan is relatively simple and effective. In the first month, the lifter increases specificity by adding some heavy singles using his training max weight after he does his AMRAP sets. In month two, the lifter starts using his training max weight as the AMRAP set. In month three, you cut out all AMRAP sets and add an additional super heavy single.