Thinking About Starting a PL Club at my College

Cliffs: I want to start a powerlifting team, how should I do it.

My school doesn’t have one and I miss the comraderry and exchange of ideas from the PL club at my old school. I don’t think it would be hard to get one going, but keeping it going would be the hard part.

Issues:

1. I’m still a novice by PL standards (however, I am one of the strongest for my size at my gym so that might give me a little credibility to people I try to recruit)
  2. I’ve haven’t attended a powerlifting meet yet.
  3. The facilities available would be the college gym which does not allow chalk, does not have a dead-lifting platform, and uses the dreaded octagon plates.

I’m thinking I should just go for it and maybe as a group of people with a love for the iron, we’ll be able to muddle through as a PL team. That’s my hope.

Is there some sort of research into this I need to do?

Would I just be better off powerlifting solo and not starting a team until I have more experience?

how about instead of forming a “team” , you just get a bunch of guys together and call it a “group” . train as a group , learn a s group , compete and help each other out as often as you can . as different people come and go (and that will happen), you’ll notice a core group that seems to stick it out .

thats your team

Try talking to your school’s Director of Activities. It should be part of Res Life. They may help you with some in-house organization. You are going to have to become very knowledgeable about PL. If they think it will be a group of meat-heads they won’t lift a finger to help you.