Thinking About Competing in August

I have an opportunity to compete in a small lifting competition that is hosted by the Naval Station I work out of. The contest is in early August. I think it would be fun, and kind of give me an introduction to these events.

My current 1RMs are:

Squat: 250
Dead: 300
Bench: 140

I know they are pitiful, and I know that I probably don’t stand a chance of even placing in the contest, but I’m a novice lifter, and I’m really planning on doing this for fun and experience.

My question is, what are some optimal ways to really increase those lifts? Should I focus on them exclusively, or are there other exercises that would help me develop more quickly? If there are any tried and true programs that help, I’d be interested in learning about those, too.

Thanks in advance!

First of all - go for it. I have never competed because that is just not my thing but if you have thought about it you should just go for it.

Second, in regards to increasing those lifts there is no better way to get stronger at them then to do them. I would just spend some time on here looking up some of the power lifting articles. I know I did a Dave Tate program that I loved (I can’t remember where I found it) that really helped me increase all three lifts. Let us know how you do!

had I found this program months ago, I’d be much stronger then I am today.

go for it. you can only get better man. you may also find some people there can help you train and increase your lifts. good luck

Thanks for the replies, all!

Zephead: regarding that program, what is a “GHR” ?

I think I’m going to enter the contest in November, which will give me just about 6 months to increase my lifts. I’ll check out the event in August, to see how the contest runs, and to maybe meet the guys who compete.

glute ham raise

[quote]darwin420 wrote: