Thinking about changing my major

I am now a computer science major about to get into my 2nd year of college. I have always been good at using computers to design web sites/forums, but that road seems very boring and dull. I am also now seeing the fading need for web designers, which has discouraged me. However, I had been training for a few months and really got into it during this year. I am thinking about changing my major to some sort of training/nutrition major, but I know nothing about it. I dont even know where to start, or the names of the majors. I am not very sure what job I would like to have, but I know I want to help people change their lives for the better.

I would like to know where I should start, and also what lies ahead.

Trust me, it’s very easy to make it as a trainer without any formal education in the area. It’s much harder to make it in the nutrition world.

If you’re thinking of going that route get yourself a nutrition degree and become an RD. Then get some training certs (CSCS is available if you have any sort of degree) and you’re laughing.

STU

Go talk to the department head in the kinesiology department at your school.

Then go talk to the strength coach and volunteer. You will be cleaning and doing other lower tier duties at first.

I would like to be a trainer rather than an RD

A couple thoughts:

Computer science really has nothing to do with designing webpages. It’s a little bit difficult to describe, but it’s really just a whole lot of math with some other stuff thrown in. I don’t mean to scare you away, but if that doesn’t appeal to you, you might want to go a different route.

That said, if you can swing the CS major, it can open up some very lucrative doors for you.