Thick Waist

I have been competing in bodybuilding for 7 years and always have had a thick waist. I am 39 years old, female, 5 feet 7 inches, 145 pounds and 9% bodyfat. I have tried various exercises to narrow my waist. When I do weighted obliques, my waist gets thicker. I am currently doing ball crunches, hanging leg raises. I am also working on making my lower lats wider. Does anyone have any other suggestions?

Stop doing oblique exercises for one, focus on delts and lat width. If you currently deadlift from the floor, I’d suggest switching to rack pulls.

Followed by,
Telling your parents thanks for narrow clavicles and/or wide hip genetics.

I have a naturally (or from years of power type lifting) thick waist. Obviously you can only do so much, but what I’ve focused on the last year was:

1- No direct oblique work
2- No full deads (switched to weighted hyperextensions for lower back)
3- Full squats - now before you jump at me about obliques being stabilizers,… when you do a full ROM, you will actually have to lower the weight, and as your form will naturally be better, the other muscles (aside from your quads) will have to work LESS.
4- Focused on my quad sweep - to draw attention away from the thick middle section (lot of close stance hacks and front squats!)
5- Focused on my lower lats - lotta close grip and reverse grip work, as well as straight arm pressdowns with a rope, but also with an angled torso, so I felt the stretch much more by my lower lat insertions.

S

I also have a thicker waist than I’d like, and I did stop doing oblique exercises for it. I always heard twists were good (I see people doing them w/ a stick across their shoulders).

[quote]venusismyplanet wrote:
I also have a thicker waist then I’d like, and I did stop doing oblique exercises for it. I always heard twists were good (I see people doing them w/ a stick across their shoulders).[/quote]