Thick Abs vs Flat Abs?

Recently, I’ve noticed my abs getting kind of thick, which irks me a lot.

I’ve been training for about 3 years, the past 8 months were more progression-oriented (no more “anorexia athletica”).
I do a 4-day split with varying rep ranges, lots of basic exercises like squats, deadlifts, pull-ups and so on. Currently very little cardio.

I am very happy to see growth in my arms, back and legs, but my abs are a different matter.
I used to do dedicated ab work (the standard, high-rep gym class stuff), but obviously that doesn’t give you ripped abs. So I no longer do add abs to my workouts, I supposed the support work for the lifts, pull-up/pushups would suffice. It does, strength-wise…if it weren’t for the shape, I’d be fine with that.
I’m not gaining fat on my stomach, rather it really seems to be an issue of the abs (especially upper) getting thicker.

They’re getting stronger from all those lifts, but why bigger? Is there a way to prevent this? I realize it’s probably in part due to genetics…but thick abs look bad on me, I’m quite short, big frame (my ribcage and hipbones would suit a much taller person) so I’d appear rather, well, blockish.

Any suggestions?

Its partly when you get stronger…and dont do as much cardio…If you keep more cardo going your abs will stay thinner looking. Im the same say. I stopped doing so much running and my abs are very thick…especially for my size. 5 11 170…I do ab rollers from the toes though and that makes them thick. If you also eat really lean there will be less fat over them… But the thickness really is beneficial to lifting. Keeps your body inline much easier. Heavy sqauts and dead lifts seem to make the abs puff out.

I’ve recently been reading a bit more about training obliques. Trying to avoid the square oblique look we associate with men, and keep more of an hourglass can be tricky, especially for those of us who really like to do the compound lifts, but here’s what I’ve learned.