T Nation

The Tide Will Turn...

So, this is it. I am officially coming out of the shadows of cyberspace and starting my own journal, with some encouragement from a couple of hookerfaces! =)
Now for introductions.....I have NO athletic background to speak of. I was the straight-A student who stayed relatively thin by staying super busy in school and skipping meals.

I was much more interested in working my brain, acting chops, vocal cords, etc. to worry about working muscles. (Needless to say, between my brilliant thoughts on weight loss and lovely hypoglycemia, my metabolism has since slowed to a crawl.)
Then I met this boy (who is now my husband!)...he had just started getting interested in lifting and said, "Hey, watch this video of a girl named Kara Bohigian." I was HOOKED!

So, here I am a few years later still learning, working on consistency, and making small gains. I would like to think that I don't get discouraged as easily as I used to, but some added accountability can't hurt!

I'm currently using the 5/3/1 training system and making gains slowly but steadily. I train in the same gym with my girl mmgalb, sbmart, and Big Jim, but don't hold that against me =)

I'll be posting my recent numbers shortly....
Thanks in advance for everything!

Just being the first to say HI!!

I’ve seen this 5/3/1 program around, but have yet to look it up to see what it’s all about…

I’m excited to follow your progress!! :slight_smile:

mom-in-MD: You’ve made quite a bit of progress yourself. Thanks for the warm welcome! =)

I love Kara Bohigian!

So, today I started Week 1, Cycle 3 of my 5/3/1 training. The following numbers are from Week 3, Cycle 2 (week before deload):

Workout 1:
DB incline - 25 lbs., 3x8, 4th set to failure
“Fat Man” rows - 10x3 (working towards my goal of a pull up!)
Pulldowns - 3x12 lighter weight, focusing on form
30 min. light cardio

Workout 2:
Deadlift - 120lb x 5, 135lb x 3, 150lb x 3 (feels so easy!)
Back Raise - 4x8 with 10lb plate
Abs - 5/10