T Nation

The Success of a Beginning Nobody -- Squat

Gym day 1

Height: 5'11
Weight: 150
Max Bench Press: 135
Max Squat: 135
Max Dead lift: ????

That was me. A skinny, pasty, hunched over computer n3rd miraculously perched on two twig legs that rattled around on a breezy day.

That was also only 2 months ago.

Height: 5'11
Weight: 166
Max Bench: 160
Max Squat: 225
Max Dead Lift: 225

That's a weight gain of 16 pounds, 25 pounds on my bench, 90 pounds on my Squat and some unknown integer of pounds added on to my Dead Lift; all in 60 days.

Still not overwhelmingly impressive but this is the beginners forum right?!?

A lot of beginners post on here with questions about squat (I know. I did so myself about 2 months ago) so I thought I would share how I got started and what difficulties I faced. After all, what good is forum leech who asked for help if he doesn't plan on reporting his success, and giving back to the community?

I realize I'm still a beginner, but I think I'm just past where a lot of people get stuck, so it's fresh on my mind. Please, those wiser than I, comment with constructive advice.

What worked for me:

I read an article on here that said for beginning squatters, the best course of action is to forget about all these systems and plans and load ratios, and set and rep hokum for right now and just go to the gym and start squatting.

I found a weight that I thought I could lift about 15 times. I did 3 sets of 5 reps. I repeated this every time I went to the gym.

I would increase the weight by a little every time I went, or every week (depending on soreness and general feeling of strength). I went to the gym three times a week. I went up 90 pounds in two months.

At first:
My knees were sore.
My hip flexors were sore.
My lower back was sore.
The bar hurt my back.
I looked dumb.