T Nation

The Split, My Workouts

Been doing a 3 day-split/twice a week consisting of:

Chest/Tris/Calves
Back/Traps/Bis
Shoulders/Legs

Numbers have been going up, weight is going up, but didnt want to push it with my new uni workload plus gym 6 days a week so was wanting people's input on this new one, 2 day-split, twice a week, im still a novice so the frequency of training muscle groups should be fine. Besides if MODOK does likes frequency, well hell, ill do frequency too.

Here it is:

Workout A:
Flat DB Press 4x6-8
DB Shoulder Press 4x6-8
Dips 4x8-10
Close-grip Bench Press 4x8-10
EZ-Bar Extensions 4x10-12
Cable Crunches 4x10-12

Workout B
Deadlift 4x6-8
Front Squat 4x6-8
Chinups 4x8-10
DB Rows 4x8-10
EZ-Bar Curls 4x10-12
Seated Calf Raises 4x10-12

Just wondering on the whether the volume is too little, i usually rest 1-2mins between sets. I guess i should just try it next week and see how it goes and adjust accordingly. Anyone done a split like this? Dont really think upper/lower splits work, too much volume on upper body day.

Thoughts/suggestions?

There is no way in hell I would train that way unless I wanted my progress to DECREASE. Not one body part appears to be getting enough attention. I have a BACK DAY for a reason. It takes that much to stimulate growth and to give it enough attention. Your arm training has been narrowed down to basically "chin ups and one exercise of ez bar curls". Why is your class work preventing you from hitting the gym like you were previously when you claim you were making progress?

Why the hell do so many of you quit doing what works?

Yea this isn't that good. I don't understand why beginners design their own programs. Too little volume? There is no way in hell I could lift effectively at the end of one of those workouts.

Check out WS4SB. I understand that is a upper/lower split 4 days a week and I bet you will get much better results from that.