T Nation

The Scale of 2WW

As an expert of the subject I find this really well made and informational video about the 2WW and its casualties. Just wanted to share.

That was amazing…and very eye-opening.

Mufasa

[quote]Rattus wrote:

As an expert of the subject I find this really well made and informational video about the 2WW and its casualties. Just wanted to share. [/quote]

Wow… 70 million people. 70 million, that’s a hard number to wrap your brain around. A major war by major powers, given our capabilities is hard to even grasp. If we went to war with China or Russia, who knows what the numbers would be. Especially, since these two in particular would not think twice about civilian casualties, theirs or ours.

I have a degree in history, and i wish i could unlearn some of the things which went on during the war, particularly on the eastern front.

Same here. I have read a lot of stuff about the eastern front, visited many places in Eastern Europe, and produced some of my own essays about the subject. But even now, the scale and brutality of the front still overwhelms me.

Not going to downgrade western front or the efforts there, but it was living hell in any aspect in the east.

The killing of course did not stop in 1945, it went on for many years after that. I know this from personal experience of family members.

Nor did it start at 1939. There are areas which have been under hostilities regularly for hundreds of years. Their positioning between Western and Eastern Europe has become a huge burden through history.

[quote]Rattus wrote:
Same here. I have read a lot of stuff about the eastern front, visited many places in Eastern Europe, and produced some of my own essays about the subject. But even now, the scale and brutality of the front still overwhelms me.

Not going to downgrade western front or the efforts there, but it was living hell in any aspect in the east. [/quote]