The Rules on Cardio Post-Lifting During a Cut

I’m just beginning my next cut cycle. I’m 26, 178 lbs about 18% bodyfat. I’m currently doing 5/3/1 for programming with 2-4 accessories depending on the day.

My initial reduction of calories is going to come from diet alone. After my weightloss stalls I plan to introduce cardio to progress further rather than cut calories more (made the mistake of dropping calories too far too fast last time). I plan to do cardio on my off days, but if I get to the point where I’m adding cardio on my lifting days, how does that affect my post-lifting nutrition? Should I down some protein after lifting or maybe some BCAAs (I know there’s debate on whether they help) but before cardio or does that really make THAT much of a difference?

thanks guys

If there’s a debate on the utility of BCAAs, thats news to me

Personally never noticed a difference. Taking in some form of protein immediately after lifting wouldn’t be a bad idea though.

well ideally i would reccomend separating your cardio from your workout, if you have the time. however from what i’ve read taking the shake after lifting and before the cardio will significantly reduce the effectiveness of the cardio. providing you dont overdo the duration of post workout cardio i’d reccomend postponing the protein shake until after the cardio.

please answer:

how tall are you? how do you know youre “about” 18% bodyfat? why are you cutting?

I was planning on the first bouts of cardio being on separate days from lifting as long as I could, but it was more of a worst-case scenario thing. I’m 5’6", I’m saying 18% based on a DEXA scan I had at a slightly heavier weight. I’m cutting purely for aesthetic reasons. The BCAA comment was based on what I’ve read from a round table discussion(see link below).

http://www.elitefts.com/documents/bcaa.htm

[quote]dez6485 wrote:
please answer:

how tall are you? how do you know youre “about” 18% bodyfat? why are you cutting?[/quote]

I want to know to