T Nation

The Road To The Wrestling Ring

Hi, My name is Cal Heikkila or Buzz. I’m going to use the first post in this journal to basically give you a biography of my training life, and some information on me as a person too. It is my dream to become a successful professional wrestler along with my other personal goals such as novel writing and graphic novel art and writing.

I’ve wasted the last 4 1/2 years since High School working my way up to running my own fast food restaurant, and then I tried my hand in construction last summer. Currently I’m laid off for the season, and have begun to work toward improving my standing in life by working toward my goals both in lifting, jobs, education, and otherwise. I’ve been working out off and on since I was 12(1999 or so). I went from being the super skinny sickly little kid who could barely do physical activities to the fat kid.

I started with the basics pushups, crunches, sit-ups, bodyweight squats, and used the few lightweight rubber dumbbells my parents had. I bought into gimmicks like torso track, and got a standard Weider weight set and bench. To put it bluntly I didn’t know what I was doing. I started buying muscle mags and reading the forum on Dr. Squat Fred Hatfield’s website. It didn’t take long for me to figure out the muscle mags were little more than advertisement heaven with some decent advice sprinkled in here and there.

As a teen I tried reading a lot of Dr. Squats articles, but the language in them baffled me and left me with more questions then answers most of the time. So I posted on the board asking for a good beginners program and got a 5x5 program by a pretty good powerlifter by the name of Roger Hendrix.