The question NO ONE wants to ask

Alright, I admit it. Until a few months ago, I hadn’t squatted in 5 years. Why? Hernia squatting in high school wrestling condition that sidelined me. Squats scared me.

To add to the fire - I work out alone (partner moved to California, no one else around that I can find on my schedule). I’ll give you one more - there is no squat or powerrack in my gym. I have a gasp smith machine to work with.

So, been squatting on that. Plus, added some lighter weight free bar front squats. However, I am noticing pains that I’ve never had before, particularly in my tendons behind my left knee, and a few “tweaks” in my lower back.

So, finally, the question. Given that I have little or no working knowledge of how to properly do a squat (I mean, I know the basics, but no one there to correct my form), and I only have a smith machine, are they worth it? Should I stick to something more like Ian Kings limping program? Should I give up lifting for ultimate frisbee?

Seriously, any advice on smith squats or other alternative squats (hack, zerg squats maybe?) would be much appreciated.

A few things…

1. Front Squats (power clean the weight if there is no rack). Check out the article “Forgotten Squats” to learn proper form.

2. Barbell Hack Squats (again, check out the article “Forgotten Squats” to learn how to do them. They work great).

3. Deadlifts

4. Cleans

5. Snatches

6. Complex training (use a lighter weight to do a back squat to push press to front squat to push press complex. Check out Coach Davies’ article about Complex training).

So you don’t need a rack. And you can build impressive legs with lighter weights if you are doing some of the above stuff (Complex training). Otherwise, heavy weight with Deadlifts and Barbell Hack Squats will do wonders.

Check your form. Check out those articles.