T Nation

The Program I'm Doing Is What I'm Doing

I'm a novice lifter. If you're looking for advice this isn't the source you want. I post this stuff just to try on get some feed back on it.

I've been doing Maximum Strength. So far I've seen some good gains. I hope they keep coming. I move weights slow though. I want to be strong so I can run fast. I just didn't know that being strong is worthless unless you can convert it into power. I'm going to do sled pulls on the energy workout days for max strength. In high school 4 years ago my best time was a 4.78 40 yd dash. That doing football specific training 5 days a week and being about 35 lbs lighter. I timed a 40yd dash and a 10yd dash today. I ran a 5.1 40yd and a 1.7 10yd. The 10 yd dash is crap. They're only accurate timed by laser. That's pathetic by any collegiate or professional sport standard, but not too bad for an average guy that's been riding the couch for the past 4 years.

Ultimately I want to help my buddies get faster because they are hardcore into soccer. I'm going to do tire drags for 4 weeks and see where it gets me. That might be too soon to see a change in sprint speed, but results from thing you never do are usually faster and more noticable. I've never pulled a sled in my life.

I read some Contreras' stuff, but ultimately I think it will be tough to improve sprint speed if a crap load of highpulls, hang cleans and powercleans aren't the main form of training... you know working rapid force development.

I've been doing tire drags on the off days of max strength. This is what I've done so far

week 1
wed sat 10 yd dash 7x with 1 minute rest

week 2

mon wed fri 15 yd dash 14x with 1 min rest

this is what I plan to do

week 3

mon fri 10 yd dash 10x stressing long stride

week 4

mon wed fri 15yd dash 16x stressing long explosive strides