T Nation

The myriad benefits of exercise

I believe everyone on this forum knows about the many physical benefits of exercise ie better health, athletic performance enhancement, greater strength, and improved aesthetics. However, I find myself primarily using exercise for another reason; emotional management. I am a mental health professional by trade, and one of my first recommendations to anyone I treat is to engage in exercise. Personally, I find distinct differences in the types of exercise I engage in and the resulting emotions that accompany them.

For instance, the act of lifting heavy weights clearly raises my arousal levels for extended periods of time. I feel like I can crush boulders with a bear-hug, and this lends force and confidence to me in my personal and professional lives. Conversely, when I am extremely stressed, I find that aerobic exercise acts like a combination of Valium and Paxil for me, calming my thoughts and clearing away any fog of sadness or depression. I love to play tennis, and competitive nature of this game, or any other sport I play, combines the feelings of the other 2 types of exercise I engage in. I am well aware of the biological basis of these phenomena, but I was interested in polling the forum to see what your thoughts, experiences, and opinions were on this subject.

The ability to move fluidly like an animal. I know this sounds bizarre, but when you have two big dogs who always want to play fight, it's incredible being able to leap up into the air, land on all fours, and tackle those furry punks.

Or if I have the unlucky venture of requiring the use of public transit, I can keep myself entertained by grabbing onto the iron bars to swing around like a monkey! Bus monkeys rule.