T Nation

The Muscles from Brussels (Aldebaran)

Hello everyone, I’m starting a log as I enter the “committed” challenge. I’m 29, been lifting for 5 years at least, and like JCVD I was born in Brussels, and am half-belgian. For these 4 months I’ll be doing olympic-lifting focused training, which is a first for me. It’ll be hard and unconfortable.

The log will certainly help me being in check, expecially in the diet part. I’ve been eating 2 cheats a day for 2 months at least, and now I’m accountable. Enough time wasted. It’s been the worst year of my life. More than 6 months of depression, lead to a couple of months (july, august) where I’ve been drinking to a stupor 3x a weeks, taking drugs and eating garbage. Good thing I was still training hard. In the end muscle and strength didn’t move much, but that was time “wasted” training wise, fidgeting around, program hoping. Like they say, “anima sana in corpore sano”, so I’m now going to build a new me.

Currents stats:

1,85m 85kgs
Squat (high bar): 140kgs
Bench: 110kgs
Deadlift: 160kgs
Snatch (on a very good day): 70 kgs
Clean and Jerk: 90kgs (at least I can clean and push press it, didn’t try a 90kgs jerk but it should be okay)

These were done like 3 weeks ago in a “mock meet”, first I’ve done. This is the first time I will be training high bar, I used not to have enough mobility to make it confortable. It was the hardest rep in my life, litteraly thought I would fall as I got stuck for 3 secs.
When it was time to deadlift my legs were fried (my weakness is from the floor) and the 170 barely budged from the ground. But I could do 160 x 5 if all in.

As for nutrition I’ll start with a deficit, to spiral out of garbage food cravings and habits, then increase caloreis. My meal plan is the same every day:

Breakfast: omelet with 3 eggs, 1 slice of lean ham, sometimes a bit of cheese, lots of veggies

1st meal: ~250grs of lean meat or fish, carbs, veggies

Pre workout: some nuts, a fruit, a shake of whey