The Interrogation Room

New Year, New Log.

I had been keeping a log over in the Indigo Project section for a while, but decided it was time to relocate.

At some point, somebody commented that my basement looks like an interrogation room (pics to come, you’ll see). I thought it was fitting, so that’s the name I went with for this log.

A little background: I’m 38, I’ve been lifting on-and-off for about fifteen years. Last summer through spring of 2012, I put together a nice stretch of consistent training and ended up getting bigger and leaner than ever. Then I took the summer off to feed my addictions to tennis, golf, and beer. I started lifting again around October of 2012 and have been kicking some serious ass since then.

I’ve never really had a huge passion for lifting or getting huge, but I do it because it has proven to be the most efficient and enjoyable way of maintaining my desired level of fitness.

On the other hand, I don’t really do anything halfway, so when I do get into a groove with my lifting, I tend to go balls-out. I’m always happiest when I’m fit, so over time I’ve tried to spend more time in the zone and less time out of it.

Lately, I’ve been getting these fleeting glimpses of pending disillusionment again. I don’t know if it’s boredom or what, but instead of sitting back and watching it happen I figured I’d try to get ahead of it and make some preemptive changes.

Moving my log is one of those changes. Another change is to unapologetically pursue my goal of getting even leaner than I am right now. I admit that I’ve often been overly susceptible to peer-pressure and group think, and it’s time I did a better job of “swimming my own race”, to borrow from another log title somewhere on this site.

I welcome visitors, encouragement, and interaction, so feel free to drop in anytime. I’ve spent some time going through a bunch of logs in this section already and I look forward to keeping up and contributing wherever I can.