T Nation

The Internal Logic of a Program

Ok, I'm new to the T-Nation, but I couldn't think of a better place to test some of my ideas on training:

Here is the first idea I want to run past you---internal logic in a training program.

Ok, you know how when you read a science fiction novel (for those of us who do read) and there is a lot of crazy shit that happens...stuff that would never happen in our REAL world...but you just sort of accept it anyway, as a part of the story. Well, for those of us who have taken any writing classes, that's called making the reader suspend disbelief.

Basically you get the guy reading your book to accept that space vampires or zombies or whatever are real because it makes sense in the book. You, as the writer, make up rules and laws that govern the fictional characters that the reader can understand and so the story, although it is make believe, makes sense. It has an INTERNAL logic to it. It's all still bullshit, but it's the kind of bullshit that makes sense.

For those of you who have spent any great amount of time reading different lifting plans, you are familiar with the feeling that what you are reading is complete bullshit, but it still makes sense. And most amazing of all, some of these "bullshit" workouts actually get results for people. So, why is this? I say it is INTERNAL LOGIC.

We know the basics of growth are actually pretty simple: Persistant and escalating force. If you consistantly force your body to do more work, it will grow. That is really all weight training in a nutshell. So any plan, no matter how crazy sounding, that forces regular and increasing work loads will give results.

This is why BOTH HIT training and HVT work for people. If I do a shit load of weight for just a few reps, but I go up in weight each week, then I'm doing more work, so I'm getting more growth. If I do a shit load of volume, but I do more and more volume every week, I'm getting more growth.