T Nation

The Easiest Workout to Pack on Pounds

I'm a vegetarian and it is hard for me to gain weight. I just started lifting recently and I'm looking for a 4-day split with compound exercised. I want to focus just on the basics such as squat, bench press, etc. I was wondering if anyone has one in mind and could point me in the right direction. Thanks.

stop being a vegetarian and the weight will go up

Look up Mike Mahler , he is a Vegan eater who has added at least 30lb of muscle to his orginal frame. I believe he recommends eating like meat eater on a high protein diet but with vegetarian sources such as nuts and possilby protein enriched food. I think lentils have a lot of protein too . Of course there is always protein shakes and even vegan protein shakes.

I know its been beaten to death, but the basic premise that calories in must exceed calories out still holds true for most people to gain weight. If you are a vegetarian, it simply reduces your choice of foods. That being said, if you want to go with a 4 day workout split, you can break it up into bodyparts: like chest/bi, back/tri, legs, shoulders and abs; or another idea is 2 upper body and 2 lower body days. There are a ton of possibilities to use on any type of split, but the main thing is to eat in order to push the scale.

[quote]ru4real1666 wrote:
I’m a vegetarian and it is hard for me to gain weight. I just started lifting recently and I’m looking for a 4-day split with compound exercised. I want to focus just on the basics such as squat, bench press, etc. I was wondering if anyone has one in mind and could point me in the right direction. Thanks.[/quote]

Like everyone else has said, if you want to gain weight, you need to eat more. As for workouts, WS4SB would be a good place to start.

Do you know how stupid chickens are?