T Nation

The Classic Bench Press Problem

Allright, this is my first post so I'll just say whatsup..

I've been lifting for about 10 months I'd say I've been taking it seriously since the summer. Regardless, not that numbers mean everything to me, but I was comfortably repping 195 when I did 3 sets of 5 reps before Christmas. I left for vacation for about a month and became overwhelmed with exams and whatnot which cut on my workout time significantly. By February I was good to go, but my bench had dropped to 8-12 sets of 165. Didn't matter, I was repping 180 comfortably by the end of the month, but come March my shoulder began to somewhat bug me and it seems like I lost my bench rhythm.

Since then I'm stuck at 180 which baffles me because it's not like I plateaud considering I've benched more before.
Now, I've begun to increase my diet significantly because I know this is an issue. But I'm sure a few people have had this problem. How did you cope with it?
Thanks.

"The classic bench press problem"? The first problem I see is you're confusing taking it seriously with a month vacation for Christmas and coming back in February.

Regardless, the first thing people here will want is your diet, calories/day and protein/day.

Technique?

Just eat and bench press. When you start stalling trying to hit 315-350, then you can start asking questions. There is no such thing as a "plateau" for somebody who can't even bench 2 plates.

Beginner's forum. It's here for asking questions. This 'advice' is not going to help...anyone.

OP: You said your shoulder hurts, can you describe that in more detail?

Post your entire upper body routine, your diet and a video of you benching and people can probably help you out with this. There are a lot of reasons why someone can stall out on an exercise, but without some more detail it will be difficult to figure out why you are.