T Nation

The BodyBuilding Lifestyle? WTF?

Okay so back when I started lifting last december 2005, I read all up everything I could about bb’ing and how to get bigger etc etc, all of that stuff. Til this day I still read up on it all, and you always hear “If you are doing too much in your life, if you’re not getting enough rest, if you have too much stress, and if you don’t have proper nutrition and eat every 2-3 hours, you can kiss any gains you might have made goodbye”.

So since hearing this shit, I’ve allowed myself to go the past year basically sitting around doing absolutley nothing all day long, sitting here staring at a computer screen, eating non stop, waiting for my next meal to cook, no cardio or anything fun. Only problem with it all is, my friends who have jobs, who drink, who have harder majors than me, and get minimal sleep and don’t eat that well, are growing more than me!

I just don’t get how you all expect someone to lead a sedentary lifestyle to make gains that seem like they’re either gona come or not come based on genetics. I mean, I’ve given up so much in my life the past year just to hope to see good gains, and so far i’ve really hardly seen shit.

At least, nothing more than if i didn’t live this lifestyle. So what gives, why do they say you can kiss any gains you might have had goodbye if you have stress in your life and are doing too many things? Don’t they realize this is life, not just a vacation?

[quote]lifter85 wrote:
So since hearing this shit, I’ve allowed myself to go the past year basically sitting around doing absolutley nothing all day long, sitting here staring at a computer screen, eating non stop, waiting for my next meal to cook, no cardio or anything fun. Only problem with it all is, my friends who have jobs, who drink, who have harder majors than me, and get minimal sleep and don’t eat that well, are growing more than me!
[/quote]

Dude - You gotta train. Eating and playing on the computer will not put muscle on you.