The Best Way to Prepare Chicken?

I’m kind of new at this so I’m sure I’m asking a dumb question. And before you make fun of me, yes, I have prepared chicken before just not the healthy way. So any tips? How much do I buy to prepare it for the week? Do I marinate it and if so what in?

I’ve been told coconut oil is the healthiest to cook chicken with in a skillet. Is this true? Is is best to dice it up? I know it’s a lot of questions but I need details! I’m looking to have chicken for both lunch and dinner if that helps. Any tips would be appreciated :slight_smile:

Foreman.

Better yet, Weber.

Cooking on a skillet, on a grill, and in the oven are all fine methods.

Since you mentioned skillet, lets start with that. Preheat the skillet. Use a low temp on a strong element. It will take a few minutes longer, but the meat will be far juicier. Add oil or fat when skillet has heated.

High end extra virgin olive oil, macadamia oil, avocado oil, coconut oil, cocao butter, and plain old butter are all excellent fat choices to cook it in depending on what type of flavor you are trying to impart.

Add the chicken to the skillet and cook each side for several minutes, flipping at least 3 times. The time on each side is determined by how high a heat you have the element set to.

To make sure the chicken is done, insert a meat thermometer into the thickest part. 165 degrees fahrenheit is done, 185 for a whole bird.

Here are some cooking times for different portions:

http://www.chicken.ca/DefaultSite/index.aspx?ArticleID=51&lang=en-CA

As for your meal preparation, I suggest you pick two days in the week 3 days apart when you have an hour or two and make 6-8 servings worth in one batch. This will allow you not to have to eat more than 3 day old chicken at most which is about as far as you want to push it anyway.