T Nation

The Best Strength Program?

What is the best pure strength program out there in your opinion (I dont mind mass at all but I want a program that dont waste time on hypertrophy)? I am 5’ 8", 158 lbs and have been lifting weights for 7.5 months. I currently do a bodyweight upper body day twice a week and a weights lower body day twice a week.

The lower body day is somewhat like a westside for skinny bastard program. One day I workup to a squat 3RM and the other I work up to a 5RM. I do max deads once in a while (6-8 weeks). And I also do assistance exercises on those two days (such as G/H raise, Romanian dead, grip work, full contact twist, etc).

My problem is that I really want to have a set program as I am a beginner. One thing though, I want to keep the bodyweight exercises. I’ve looked at Bill Starr and Westside but neither seems to like bodyweight exercises.

I’m a little confused by your post. You say you want to gain strength, but you’re unwilling to do anything but bodyweight exercises for your upper body? How much strength do you really expect to gain this way? And how would you be measuring it? Also, why just bodyweight for the upper body if you are perfectly willing to do weights for the lower?

Honestly, I’m kind of baffled. Are you afraid of gaining any size at all for some reason? Hypertrophy is one thing, but you are fairly “compact” at 5’ 8" 158 lbs, my friend.

Kuz

• Return with honor.

If you only want bodyweight exercises for upper body, I’d say start with the planche and front lever prgressions coach sommer wrote about (do a search of the articles). Also, one-arm pushups are good, so are handstand pushups. You’ll want to probably look for gymnastic strength elements on the internet and try to work up to the difficult ones as you get more advanced.