T Nation

The Beginning: Lifting for Gymnastics/Martial Arts

Firstly, hey all :slight_smile: you seem to have a great community here, and an awesome site in general… So now i’m making the move from lurker to poster (you lucky people), as I take the initial steps towards my lifestyle change.

I’m in my second year of uni, and the last 2 years have taken a toll on my body… a diet of mainly ciggerettes and beer may be a luxury, but the fun wears off eventually, and all I’m left with are some baad habits… Although I’ve done Martial Arts for about 5 years and have taken up gymnastics recently, I’d like to use my uni gym as a focus point to really start to turn myself around.

So I’m 5’7 and around 69kg, and I have 2-3 days a week to base my routine around… But being a totaly newb when it comes to the gym in any real sense I’m stuck when it comes to building a solid routine and structure to train around… I’ve been poking around in a few topics and reading some articles and I’ve found a structure that I like:

Workout 1

Sets: 3

Reps: 5

Rest: 60 seconds between sets

Workout 2

Sets: 3

Reps: 8

Rest: 90 seconds between sets

Workout 3

Sets: 2

Reps: 15

Rest: 120 seconds between sets

I’ve got this from http://www.T-Nation.com/readTopic.do?id=508031

I’ll be doing 6 exercises per workout, and breaking them down so workout 1 = arms and shoulders, workout 2 = legs and workout 3 = chest, back and core. And like the article says 4 compound and 2 single joint exorcises per workout. Does this sound like a good base to work from?

Any help and advice on specific exercises and the routine in general would be greatly appriciated :slight_smile: I don’t want massive gains in muscle, but I do want fairly substantial growth - just not so much it limits the full range of motion I’ll be needing in the other aspects of my life…

Thanks in advance to those that bothered to read my mindless dribble and for any help offered :slight_smile: