T Nation

The 300+ Bench Goal

Firstly sorry if this is in the wrong section, I couldn’t decide so I used my best judgment.

My goal is to attain a 300lb bench, I have never done it before and it seems like a reasonable goal for a guy my size.

Stats: 5’11 - 240lbs

I am a heavy guy, yes, and I can lift good weight along with it, but not GREAT weight.

My routine on 7/2/08
7/2 - FLAT BENCH - 5x135, 5x135, 5x185, 5x190, 4x190, 1x215, 1x225(FAILED)

My routine on 9/3/08
9/3 - FLAT BENCH - 10x135, 5x185, 5x185, 2x225, 2x225, 1x235, 1x245, 1x250

I’ve been steadily hitting the gym 5x a week and I feel a lot healthier and definitely a lot stronger, I have more definition in my Trapezoids, Pectoral, and Arms(In general).

I do have pre-workout supplements that I take (I wont list them because they are not Biotest)

And I do have post-workout supplements as well, protein+glutamine. I try to get 1.5g of protien per lb but it’s not exactly easy at my weight level.

Any tips on increasing the bench press would be greatly appreciated.

If you’ve already put 25lbs on your bench in 2 months, continue to do what you are doing.

I was right around 265-270 for my 1rm before the season, and after a shoulder injury and not lifting as consistently, I’m sure it’s down from that. After the season, 300 on bench is among my goals to reach.

[quote] Matt wrote:
If you’ve already put 25lbs on your bench in 2 months, continue to do what you are doing.[/quote]

I took that into consideration too. I think I have made considerable gains in the past two months. But I also know the body is VERY adaptable and I admittedly have followed the same routine.

Is there a way to shock the system again and continue my gains? Maybe doing regular drop sets? (Starting at highest weight and moving to lowest) - Will doing this ‘Shock’ my system allow me to continue.

Thanks,
-Josh

I too have 315 bench as a lifetime goal. Along with a 405 squat and 500lb dead. Shoot for the moon…