Thank You for Your Youtube Channel

So with life events and renewed focus on my appearance, I wanted to come here and post question after question…
On a whim I went to youtube and started watching some videos. One took me to your channel Coach Christian Thibaudeau - Thibarmy. I fired up a few and it answered the big questions for me in my training and gave me the reasoning for how I am going to help an absolute beginner start their training and point them to the videos so it isn’t just me saying, ya know?
Recently you’ve said you are going to focus your articles more on theory than on actual programs. Thank you for that.
I remember reading something you wrote here in a thread that, if I remember correctly, something about not fearing muscle loss too much when in a fat loss focus. That is what I remember briefly. I would like to see more on this.
I see real REAL detailed answers given here in threads that get lost with forum traffic that I would like to reference again or refer someone to when they have questions.
ME? I just need to quit thinking the flesh in my chest back and shoulders is 100% muscle and that if I lost some of the space I am taking up that what is lost is not 100% muscle, that I probably look bigger despite losing size anyway.

1 Like

Well, provided that you train hard and smart and that protein is high enough the risk of muscle loss while dieting is very small, until you are very low in body fat.

For example, going from 30% down to 20% should not lead to any muscle loss and in fact you should be able to gain muscle almost as easily as if you were in a surplus.

Going from 20% to 15% will not lead to muscle loss either and you can still build muscle pretty well, but slower than while in a surplus.

Going from 15 to 10% will not lead to muscle loss but it is hard to build muscle.