Texas Method - Small Changes - Inputs/Critique?

Hey ladies and gents.

I’m new to this site,but not new to training.

I’ve been living between two worlds (crossfit without kipping - and power lifting) trying to figure out what I want to focus on. Up till now I have been doing Bill Starr’s “big 3” for 2-3 months and then switching to crossfit-ish training, when I got bored.

Now it has been decided! I want to lift heavy things! I’ve ended up with the Texas Method. I’m using the method as a template and I have made some small changes.

Since I have no experience with the Texas Method I would love some inputs! both good and bad is welcome!

Here goes:

Mon - volume day
WU: Flow/movement + low intensity sprints
Squat 55 starting at 70% of 5RM
(Backoff - 2
10 pistols pr leg odd weeks / 220 stepouts even weeks)
Bench 5
5 at 70% odd weeks / Press 55 at 70% even weeks
(Backoff - 2
10 DB incline bench odd weeks / 210 Dips even weeks)
Deadlift - 1
5 at 70%
(Backoff - 2*10 BB bent over rows)

Wed - easy day
Flow/movement for 10-15 minutes
Squat 25
Press / Bench 3
Goodmornings 510
Chin ups 3
max reps (when hitting 310 add weight in belt)
Shoulder assistance: YTW 3
10 of each

Fri - intensity day
WU: Jump rope 5 mins + agility ladders & plyo for 10 mins
Squat 15 (starting slightly below current 5RM and hitting new PR’s in a few weeks)
Bench / Press 1
5 (same as above)
Power cleans 5*3 at 70% of 3RM
Finisher: BB complex at low weight - no more than 10-15 mins.

Hope for some feedback! Is it too much, can I ad more, starting weights too high/low? Hit me.

Thank you :slight_smile:
Thomas

Sounds like a pretty safe bet, quite close to the standard Texas Method overall but with the common reduction in weight for the volume day. 5x5 programs will work if you let them, and the heavy day will help drive progress on for longer still, so if you train well you should achieve a lot assuming you are a low level intermediate / advanced beginner in terms of lifts and experience.