Testosterone replacement causing high blood pressure?

I am currently on Androgel 5 mg/ a day. I have seen that my blood pressure has been elevated lately. Can a replacement dose of testosterone cause high blood pressure? Any help or suggestions would be appreciated.

Go see your doctor that prescribed the treatment. Run some bloodwork, find out why your pressures are up. It could be from all the extra sex you’ve been having since you began your hrt :)!

All the extra sex has been fantastic!! A big change. I am going to see my doctor. But, until then, does anybody else have any input. Much appreciated. Thanks guys.

i say keep on plugging! if you die, at least youll die with a boner.

Sime…think in terms of endrocinology for a second. While I’m not a doctor yet (still not done with my undergrad pre-requisites) I know a few things.
Testosterone has a few effects on the body. For one it stimulates erythroipietin release. What does this mean? Red blood cells are also called Erythrocytes. So basically increased testosterone levels causes an increase in red blood cells, and your hematocrit (percent blood volume occupied by red blood cells). Now the blood is composed a few different things, mainly plasma, and formed elements. The formed elements are a lot more viscuos (sticky, higher friction) and the more formed elements you have (red blood cells, white blood cells) the higher the resistance will be in your blood vessels.
If you look at the equation…
Blood pressure = Cardiac Output (the amount of blood pumped by your heart a minute) x Resistance
Or I think it’s something like that…
The higher the resistance, the higher your blood pressure. Also more red blood cells can lead I’m thinking to an increase in cardiac output since there is more to pump, which would also increase Blood pressure.

So I hope this helps answer your question.
Jason

It could be causing an increase in blood pressure.