T Nation

Testosterone/Prolactin Levels

Hi,

I recently had a blood test and would appreciate a little help interpreting the results. Testostorone was 31 and prolactin 255, but I don’t know what the units were. A quick net search shows T levels ranging from 300-1000? Is there a difference between UK and US units?

Also, does anyone with Gilbert’s Syndrome have any experience gaining size/muscle? I’m 6’2 195lbs, clavicle’s sticking out & visible from the shoulder, little body hair, had 1 sided gyno as a teen and can’t help thinking a less than optimum liver is going to have an adverse effect on hormone production and regulation. Doctor has said GS is totally benign, though I can’t help thinking these things are interrelated?

Thanks

Prolactin levels in men are typically less than 15ng/mL. At higher levels it suppresses testicular function (testosterone and sperm production). I have been battling a pituitary prolactin secreting tumor for a few years. They aren’t particularly uncommon. What did your doctor say?

Also I don’t think elevated bilirubin is bad for you but I’m not a doctor.

Is 255 prolactin in a different unit to ng/ml? Or are the numbers the wrong way round perhaps: Testostorone of 255, prolactin 31?

Two doctor’s have both said Gilbert’s doesn’t do anything. One doctor recommended checking testoterone and prolactin levels, though I didn’t see him regarding the results. The one I did see was quite dismissive and quick to move me along, as clearly I’m not dying or anything.

Whilst the elevated bilirubin is nothing to worry about, the other things make me wonder if it’s a small part of something else. I suppose I’m paranoid a mess of hormones will be affecting any recovery/growing.

Anyone have any ideas on the numbers?

Thanks

[quote]endofwednesday wrote:
Is 255 prolactin in a different unit to ng/ml? Or are the numbers the wrong way round perhaps: Testostorone of 255, prolactin 31?