Testing 1RM for 5/3/1

I am planning on starting Wendlers 5/3/1 and I am 18 138lbs. I have been training for about 7 months but only calisthenics. Only for about the last month have i been practicing the movement with deadlifts and squats. As of right now mt deadlift is 185 lbs for 4 X 8 and Squat is 157 for 4 X 8 The book states you need to know your 1RM on all the 4 main lifts in order to take the 10% off and start the program. I have never tested or come anywhere near my 1rm.

How would I go about safely testing it as a beginner. I really want to start the program as soon as possible. THanks

Just google “5/3/1 calculator”

Without using a calculator (obviously above poster didn’t read the “need to know” or misread as “need to figure”), I would test 1 lift a day on the 5/3/1 schedule. Start with an easy weight for a set of 10 or 15, and gradually work up in weight while reducing the reps. Keep in mind, your max should be the heaviest weight you can lift without mechanical failure (i.e. butt of the bench, improper squat depth, etc.)

As the weight goes up, take a little longer between sets. 3-5 min. on your heaviest ones like Wendler advises in the book. In my own experience, if you miss at a weight, give yourself the rest period, add 5 to 10 pounds, and try the lift. Give it an effort but don’t be shocked if you miss. Then, go back down to the original missed weight and try again. Doing this can “prime” your system and you might hit the lift the 2nd time. If you miss twice, the last completed lift (mechanically sound) was your max. Just a parting reminder, your actual max is then multiplied by .9 before it’s plugged in to the 5/3/1 charting matrix.

[quote]SRT08 wrote: