T Nation

Tendonitis, Wrist Pain, Injuries.

Ok, so who out there has experienced or is currently experiencing wrist pain/bicep pain/shoulder pain?

ME!!!

I am pretty sure they are all linked, speaking for myself, and at this moment in time I have rather sore wrists, a shooting bicep pain, and a shoulder problem preventing me from working at full capacity in pressing/pulling movements.

To give an idea of my activity levels, I am a personal trainer of six years (www.londonpersonaltrainer.co.uk), currently training a couple of times a day in the gym for myself plus running boxing circuit classes, doing padwork with my clients, and I play the drums(www.myspace.com/kubotan) several hours per day on most days including gigging regularly. Yes, I know there is a lot of wear and tear potential, but bear in my mind I have been training for 15 years of my life, and drumming for 4.5 years, so there is a large amount of tolerance and conditioning that has been built up.
No-one is indestructible though eh?

The various pieces of advice I have had from various sources - some officially qualified and some well experienced -come down to the following:

1. Rotator cuff could be weak - try doing abducting/adducting cable rotator cuff exercises.

2. Core stability could be weak - try improving on that aspect.

3. Use gloves more often, if not always, as constant grinding/gripping with your hands on metal bars can damage nerve endings in your hands & fingers and lead to wrist inflammation.

4. Stretch your back over a Swiss ball to help open the thoracic section of your spine.

5. See an osteopath, get your back cracked, pay lots of money to them.

The latest thing I have seen which may or may not help are wrist supports and gloves from the following company, but to me these look not much different from the normal wrist supports and gloves available. Anyone used these?