Tendonitis Bad News

Alright so ive been hitting the weights pretty hard for a few years. I’m training for 2 powerlifting competetions and 3 combines this spring. I’m powercleaning one day and all the sudden my elbows just start aching and it only got worse. I went to the doc, he told me it was tendonitis.

I iced it took my anit-inflams and even seen the chiro. I took a full week off and the pain seemed to go away a bit. It’s mainly on the outside of my elbows. SO ive been taking fish oils and triflex and i went back to lifting today and it hurt quite a bit while benching and i couldnt even do extensions. I tried some of those elbow straps but they didnt cut it.

I did all kinds of research on this and checked all the stuff out on this site about it. So you guys have any ideas on what i should do besides just take time off. Because every day counts and i dont have much time. I sure hope you guys can help me out a bit.

…while long term this probably isn’t the best advice… i did it and it may help you…i was deeling with some tendonitis on the insides of my elbow, while i probably SHOULD have just taken time off…i took like… 3 or 4 extra strength ibuprofen, and, had a red bull+creatine pre-workout…definitely not advocating this as the best idea…but…doing that…combined with a GOOD WARMUP… got me through my workouts relatively pain-free…

again, long-term…take time off…but…if you’re in a crunch for time…you MAY just wanna pump in some pain killers… and some red bull etc. (to even out the supressent side effects of the pills)…and go at it (you may even be able to get a doctors prescription for t3’s…though, you’d probably have to lie a little bit for that

Oh dear! you poor thing!

I had the same prob a little while back, from doing Skull Crushers too heavy(30kg each end of the EZ bar) now i relate to them as “elbow Fuc*ers”

Time off - the only thing that made any impact on the pain factor, as much as I din’t want to it was the only thing that made any real difference.