T Nation

Tendinosis and Deca

Hi.
I'm a newbie. Go easy on me :slightly_smiling:
I've been bodybuilding for 6 years.
For the last 10 months I've struggled with shoulder issues. About a year ago I was training like an idiot, ignored all the pain in my shoulder and eventually couldn't even lift my arm or drive a car.

I was diagnosed with supraspinatus and biceps (long head) tendinosis.
The supraspinatus is fine now, but the damn bicep tendon doesn't seem to be improving at all. Someone at the gym told me that deca would fix my bicep tendon, and I'm seriously thinking about doing a cycle. I've had ART done on my shoulder, but it didn't get any better.

I haven't done any chest or delt training for 9 months and my patience is running thin.
So, my question is: Would deca aid in healing my bicep tendinosis?
All help is greatly appreciated.

Magnus

Here is a link to a thread similar to yours. Hope some of this info helps.

http://www.T-Nation.com/readTopic.do?id=970030&pageNo=0#976037

Good Luck

TR

Thanks a lot :slightly_smiling:
I just ordered some Cissus Rx.

Deca is not known for it's tendon-healing qualities, more for alleviating joint pain & inflammation.
My suggestion, based on me having the same problem in BOTH bicep tendons at the same time recently, is to have a couple cortizone shots and take some time off. I stayed away from all pulling, curling, and benching for 3 weeks. Heat before the gym, ice after, NSAIDs twice a day. I recovered just fine. The longer you go on hurting, the longer it will take to heal.

Thanks, Antman.
I've had the injury for some time now, so I guess it'll take some time to heal.
Rowing, chins and incline curls don't hurt, but pressing hurts quite a bit.
I'm not sure about cortisone though. I've heard a lot of negative things about it. Stomach problems and a worsening of the injury for example.
I may be wrong, but I thing cortisone is great for tendinosis, but if you have tendinitis then you'd better stay away from it.