Teenage Bodybuilding

I’ve seen it mentioned on here a few times and it’s been told to me in the past too, what age have you noticed results really start improving? For instance I know I used to beat myself up in the past about not being really muscular after a year or two of training, but I also realize that a lot of that had to do with me being 15. I was in the gym the other day and someone was talking to me about how he didn’t really start getting big until he was a freshman in college and that growing at 17-18 is really difficult for most people, with 20+ really being when gains come faster. So as above, what age do you think is really optimal for most and when people make their best gains (and do you think it will be much harder for most teenagers to make really significant gains)?

I dont think age has as much to do with it as maturity and experience. I started lifting as a freshman in high school for football. I really didnt see good gains until I was in college either though. However, I put this more on the fact that my knowledge base was poor, my intensity was poor, my diet was poor, and I just didnt know anything about my body.

I made gains, dont get me wrong, but they werent as substantial as they could have been because of my inexperience. At this point (Im 24 now) I have vastly increased my knowledge base, my intensity is better, my diet is stapled, and I know how my body reacts to different splits, exercises, and volume. Sometimes you just have to learn the hard way…

I noticed the first real improvement a few months away from turning 16. Shit just started to click, and it felt like I finally got my beginner gains almost a year after I had started lifting for football. Really I think it moreso has to getting everything together in terms of base, proper technique, dedication, and finding what works for you individually.

One thing I think most of us teens tend to do is lack true intensitiy, and underestimate the importance of diet