T Nation

Teen Needing Diet Advice

Hello, I am 16. I started lifting last year when I was 15, and we'll over 230 lbs. I stand 5"7. I started training mixed martial arts, and I got motivated to lose weight. Right now I am sitting at 160.6. I am wrestling for my school this year & I need help with my diet, I know what foods to eat but how much of each macronutrients should I consume?? I eat turkey burgers,turkey Bacon, eggs, tilapia, tuna, shrimp, chicken, broccolli, salad, spinach, greek yogurt, almond milk, PB2, no fat cottage cheese and that's about it. Sometimes I eat a lean and fit meal & regular peanut butter.

I consume 160-200 grams of protein. 100-150 grams of carbs. And 35-50 grams of fat. All I'm worried about is my carb intake. Is it to low? I lift Monday. Weds. Fri and do a 1-2 mile run those days . TUes, thurs and sat are Plyometric work and sprints. The only supplements I take are BSN Aminox and On Whey GoldStandard. Is there anything I should add to my diet ? What should the structure of my macros look like?

Protein looks good, judge your other macros by how you recover/gain weight.

I’d say you could increase the fat intake by 50-100% - I’m by no means a high fat/low carb guy but your body needs some fat. Of course, you’d have to cut out some of the carbs if you want to take in the same amount of calories.

Two more things - water and vegetables. Neither will matter to your macros but both will to your well-being.

Based on your numbers of what macros you consume you’re eating 1355-1850calories a day. Ever your upper end is pretty low. If you’re lifting, running, doing martial arts etc. I would think about increasing your carbs and fat intake. What are your current goals? Are you trying to cut down more? Bulk up? Or strictly for performance?

[quote]Drice21 wrote: