T Nation

Teen About to Start a Clean Bulk

Info:

I have been working out for 9 months, at the momment im around 16 years old, 165 pounds, with 14 bodyfat, 5"8.

Im gonna start my first clean bulk next monday, so i need help to get my diet ready, i will be eating at maintenance for 2 weeks, then add 250 calories, and keep adding to i gain around 0.5 pounds a week.

My maintenance is around 2500 calories.

Macros… around 40/40/20

Diet:

Breakfast:
2 whole eggs.
6 egg whites.
100g oatmeal.

Lunch:
150g Chicken fillet.
100g whole wheat pasta.
1 Apple.

Meal 3:
150g chicken fillet.
1 Apple.

Pre-workout:
150 chicken fillet.
1 Banana.
100g Whole wheat pasta

Post workout:
2 scoops whey gold standard.
1 Aple
100g whole wheat pasta.

Meal 6:
Salmon
200 Cottage Cheese

Totals: Cals:2,879 - Protein:256 - Fat:91 - Carbs:266

Workout program:
Chest/tricep
Back/Bicep
Legs/shoulders
Upperbody. (strength)

Aiming for 0.5 pounds a week, hoping to bulk for 6 months with minimum fat gain.

Dream: to get a body like rob riches.

Please give me some tips, on how i can get this bulk succeeds full.

1- Legs and shoulders on same day? Further describe please?

2- Are you Squatting and Deadlifting?

3- Why 3 upper body days and one lower? Do you already have strong wheels?

Vegetables???

Rob Riches

Your diet is pretty decent for someone your age. I hate the way these terms are being used though because all a “bulk” means is eating enough so that you know FOR SURE your body is getting enough calories and nutrients to grow. This usually can’t happen if you are putting an arbitrary limit on how much you gain per week instead of going by the actual progress being made.

I personally won’t try to prevent gaining more than “exactly 2lbs” if my strength is going up and I can see a positive difference.

That is pretty much my only critique. It isn’t a “bulk” if you are throwing on the breaks with a goal as minimal and easy to overshoot as “.5lbs” a week. You can lose and gain 5lbs in a day.