T Nation

Taking Things to the Next Level

Hi,

Im writing from London, UK. I have been training in martial arts for many years, but just over the last 4 months started bodybuilding. My goal is simply to gain larger mass, and strength. My PT said, you cant gain bulk and stay cut, so Im just starting to learn about bulking during winter and cutting just before the summer months arrive. My PT writes me a training plan every 6-8 weeks, which I follow, Im currently doing a 4 day split, most of the exercises are paired supersets. I

Right now Im just trying to reduce my body fat %, which is currently at 10%. Aiming toi reduce it to 6-8%.

Im finding as Im eating less, I just dont feel as strong, so I have 3 questions, any help appreciated:

My weight last night was 76.5kgs

1. Whats the best way to ensure Im cutting weight, but still retaining muscle mass.

2. Is it possible to still attempt to lift heavier and heavier, so right now I can only BP 60kg(3 x 12 reps), but I still want to increase this weight, can I only do this when Im eating like a monster?

3. Im finding it quite hard to increase my weight, Ive read alot of posts etc about gradually increasing weight, but I find when I do increase weight, my number of reps per set decrease, and I start to think Im failing because Im not lifting to my set rep limit? Whats the best way to increase weight?

Im tempted to mix in a couple of days of 5x5 heavy weight days, just so I keep the strength and progression factor up.

[quote]snomys wrote:
My weight last night was 76.5kgs

1. Whats the best way to ensure Im cutting weight, but still retaining muscle mass.[/quote]
    If you weigh 170 pounds and your avatare is a picture of you then you don’t need to cut. Your trying to drop 4% body fat which will end up being approximately 7 pounds. Is 7 pounds of fat really worth pissing away noob gains?

[quote]