Taking the First Step

Hello T-Nation’ers,

I have just recently taken a new assistant strength coaching job at a Division 1 school about 800 miles from my last job and home. New location means longer hours, and no more semi-professional football. I need a NEW CHALLENGE! I want to train for something, and push hard for a new goals and begin to find another passion.

Olympic lifting is something as a coach that you need to be decently proficient at, but I’d like to see if I can work to competition level. I’d like to use this post as a log, message for all those competitors and heavily experience coaches to pass along any readings, advice, etc to help me begin the process over the next few months.

As previously stated my competition lifts are pretty crappy, as in strength and conditionin we tend to use the power and hang variations more than full catches.

Any help, advice, works of wisdom are greatly appreciated!

Koing gave me some good advice a while back when I started practicing the olympic lifts. Hopefully this thread helps you get started.

That’s a solid read! Thanks!

First day of official goal oriented olympic lifting program:

Jerk: worked up to 85 kg x 4, dropped to 75 kg x 4 x 2
Push Press: 78 kg x 5, 70 kg x 5 x 2
Back Squat: 140 kg x 5, 126 kg x 5 x 4
Bent row - 85 kg x 5, 75 kg x 5 x 2
body weight ab work

technique needs work on Jerk, first time having done it I need to find a way get my front heel down consistently in nearly the same spot. I was all over the place. Weak as shit, need to be faster as well.

[quote]cdub1224 wrote:
First day of official goal oriented olympic lifting program:

Jerk: worked up to 85 kg x 4, dropped to 75 kg x 4 x 2
Push Press: 78 kg x 5, 70 kg x 5 x 2
Back Squat: 140 kg x 5, 126 kg x 5 x 4
Bent row - 85 kg x 5, 75 kg x 5 x 2
body weight ab work