Take a Break from Alcohol?

The more serious I get about my weightlifting, the more I realize that alcohol isn’t doing me any favors.

I don’t drink that much anymore – maybe once or twice a week, and even then it’s usually two or three glasses of wine or a couple of beers. But the next day I still feel a little “off” when I work out, compared to if I didn’t drink at all the night before.

Anybody else take a break from drinking ANY alcohol for, let’s say, a month or two? Did it improve your strength or stamina, if only a little bit?

I’m 57, a hard gainer, and need all the help I can get to push things to my max. If a break from alcohol will give me any benefits whatsoever, I’m gonna do it.

Thanks!

I was drinking 4-5 nights a week when I started training. As my desire for productive training grew, my desire for drinking alcohol declined astronomically. I rarely ever drink these days, and haven’t yet this year.

There just isn’t room for it in my life anymore, and any small positives are outweighed massively by all the negatives. A couple of beers once or twice a week aren’t gonna be harming you too much but you’ve already said it makes you feel “off” compared to when you don’t drink. Ask yourself whether feeling “off” is a worthy sacrifice for the enjoyment of those beers. I tried to justify it for a while but came to the conclusion it wasn’t, so stopped.

8 Likes

When you say “all the negatives” – what are they, specifically?

For me, it’s just a general feeling of sluggishness. I also find it’s harder to stay hydrated.

1 Like

Sluggishness
Low mood
Poor sleep
Dehydration
Less productive training
Less productive day
Less creativity
More irritability
Worse skin
Worse cravings for poor food choices
Wouldn’t enjoy that evening until I have that first beer I know is coming
Decreased motivation to do small tasks

That’s just after a couple. All of these are scalable dependant on how much was actually drank.