TakaSuzuki's FIREADY Log

Hi! My name is Taka Suzuki.

I am a Fire Engineer/Paramedic. I have about 10 years in the fire service and involved in fireline paramedicine, USAR RTF, firefighter health/fitness, fire academy instructor, and community involvement.

Our profession requires us to be ready at any given notice for any given emergency. It is the “unknown” that requires firefighters to be physically, mentally, and emotionally ready at all times. We are constantly pushing passed our comfort zone with 55 lbs of gear, reduced vision, and increased hyperthermia while losing mobility due to gear. This why fitness is a very important aspect for us. Fitness leads to a better physically, mentally, and emotionally ready firefighter who can make better split-second-decisons while tired.

While dabbling in personal training and functional training, I am excited for this program! If you have any questions regarding any aspect of firefighting, please do not hesitate to ask

Thanks!!
Taka

I completed Block 1 Wk 1 Day heavy hypertrophy on Saturday the 3rd.
A. Zercher squats 3 x 12. @ 155lbs

B. Bench 3 x 12. @ 135lbs

C. Chin ups 3 x 12. The eccentric at 3 seconds was killer. I ended up having to break up the reps into 6’s with a four second rest. I rarely do chinups and saw the deficiency when performing them. I always do pullups so incorporating the chinups will help me a lot.

D. Rack pull below knees 3 x 12. @ 185lbs.

I mixed 3 scoops of Surge in the clear nalgene in the kit and 1800ml of filtered water using the Berkey. I took the first 600 mls 15 mins before this workout. During the workout, I had 600 mls. I felt pretty good throughout the workout and really focused on the slower tempo. After the workout, I finished the last 600 mls.

Take aways: