T Nation

Taekwondo

I just enrolled in a Taekwondo class, I was wondering what exercises I should be focusing on? Does anyone else here have experience in taekwondo?

Hey, I used to practice TKD. Now I just lift and dream about training again. I found that doing all the basics with an emphasis on performing with explosive power and speed really made a difference in my sparring. I would suggest doing a search for “Lift Fast, Get Big” or TBT (Total Body Training) as these workouts allow time for plenty of MA training.
Stay strong,
Dan

I’m in a style that’s very similar to TKD. It’s called Sikaran, and basically is long-range kicking style.
As a beginner, I would focus on slow kicking. Kick with a lot of control, paying attention to detail. Do this for 10 reps with each leg. I do this for front side, roundhouse, inside/outside crescent and hammer/axe kicks. I recommend you do the same thing 3-5 times per week. The goal of this should be to perfect technique, and commit it to muscle memory, and not about fatigue.

If you’re looking for less specific exercises, I would say uphill and downhill running is great for training your legs for something as leg-focused as TKD.

Hope that helps!

[quote]kligor wrote:
I’m in a style that’s very similar to TKD. It’s called Sikaran, and basically is long-range kicking style.
As a beginner, I would focus on slow kicking. Kick with a lot of control, paying attention to detail. Do this for 10 reps with each leg. I do this for front side, roundhouse, inside/outside crescent and hammer/axe kicks. I recommend you do the same thing 3-5 times per week. The goal of this should be to perfect technique, and commit it to muscle memory, and not about fatigue.

If you’re looking for less specific exercises, I would say uphill and downhill running is great for training your legs for something as leg-focused as TKD.

Hope that helps![/quote]