T Nation

Switching to Strength Training

I have been training for size for 3 years now and have made considerable gains. I am looking to change how I train to focus on strength which has never been particularly important to me. All my lifts are pretty pathetic and I mainly want to improve my squat and deadlift. I understand the basics: lift heavy, big compound movements, fewer reps and longer rest periods, but what are the key things I need to do to my diet and training split?

Also what sort of changes am I going to see in the makeup of my body as I get stronger? Cardio is important to me and I was wondering how often I can run/swim without restricting my gym work too much? I am really new to this area of training and any help would be greatly appreciated. Let me know what information you need in order to help me. Thankyou

Are you trying to say you want to train for powerlifting specifically (specifically up your squat, bench, and deadlift)? Because, if you’ve been ‘training for size’ for 3 years, you should already be pretty strong. What are your 1 RM’s in bench/squat/deadlift? Are you particularly strong in movements that aren’t the big 3 (like a huge DB press, or a giant hack squat?) I ask because the best advice to give you entirely depends on just how far you’ve actually progressed.

To be honest not very far. I have posted this in the beginner section because im a real newb.

1RM bench = 100kg
1RM Squat = 120kg
1RM Deadlift (rough estimate as I havnt attempted this recently) = 120-150kg