T Nation

Switching from Liffting to Boxing

Hello,

I have been lifting for about the past 6 years now. After 6 years of lifting it is starting to take a toll on my shoulders and joints. I am 25 right now and would like to not be crippled by the time I am 40. A lot of my years of lifting I haven't used the best form. Flared shoulders while benching, deadlifting with a bent back. The past couple years I have corrected my form but it hasn't changed much with my shoulders and back.

I work a regular 40 hour a week job which consists of continuously running up and down stairs, lifting 55# buckets above waist level, lifting 50# plus baGs above waiste level from the floor and it has also done some wear on my back, shoulders, and especially my hands. I feel as if I have arthritis already. I have also been an idiot and have punched a few solid objects in my day, and accicdentally slammed my elbow into a sharp corner of a piece of steel at work and my elbow hasn't been the same since.

I get pains through out my elbow while doing push exercises. Nothing unbearable but the pain is still there. It clicks every time I push. I can't raise my hands above my head for long before my shoulders start burning. So I want to switch to training in boxing. Hitting the bag, speed bag, cardio, jump rope with maybe some light exercise. I have a bench with Dumbbells and all the equipment for boxing I need for now. I'm trying to keep my diet based around tuna, peanut butter and wheat bread, chicken, turkey burger, protein shakes and some creatine. Does anyone have any advice I can use for the switch I am trying to make?

For those of you who have made it through my long life story, thank u for reading.

Sir,