T Nation

Swimming To Burn Fat

Ok so I’ve been lifting now for roughly 3 months and I’ve made some really good gains, went from 186 to 200lbs in 3 months time, mostly from just lifting. My problem is that I still cant figure out how to eat 5 to 6 times a day. I just cant seem to find any way to fill those meals. Right now I eat strictly 3 times a day, as healthy as my limited college student budget will allow. So my first question is, what do you guys suggest eating for those 5 to 6 small meals a day?

My next question is, I’ve pretty much neglected any sort of cardio workout so I’m still carrying a good amount of body fat. I want to start swimming as I hear its a great way to tone up, burn off excess body fat, and great for overall cardio fitness. What is your guys, here at T-Nations forums take on swimming goes for a cardio exercise? Also any advice on how to go about getting into a swimming routine would be killer.

My main dig at swimming is that a lot of people including myself feel really, really hungry after swimming. Wait, that’s probably a good thing for a skinny bastard like me. So in short, I think it’s a good idea if you don’t feel really hungry afterwards but a lot of people do

[quote]ah_dut wrote:
My main dig at swimming is that a lot of people including myself feel really, really hungry after swimming. Wait, that’s probably a good thing for a skinny bastard like me. So in short, I think it’s a good idea if you don’t feel really hungry afterwards but a lot of people do[/quote]

I find this to be the case too. Just something about swimming. I ran competitively in high school and college, but our coaches would have us do pool workouts for cross-training sometimes. I would always be STARVING afterwards, and tear through my whole fridge. Way more so than an intense interval track workout.