T Nation

SWAT Competition Training

My mother is the physical director of our local YMCA. She is in charge of the all of the aerobic programs and the weight/nautilus/cardio rooms among other things.

One of her PTs just got approached by a man in his late 30s who is starting to train for an upcoming SWAT competition. This is not really the kind of training that the YMCA specializes in so she asked me for advice because she knows I am interested in more elite methods of training. However, I am no expert, I am asking all of you for some advice to relay back to her.

This is all I know so far:
1) This guy has weight trained but never too seriously. The trainer had him do some lunges and squats on the smith and he was dead for days after so his GPP probably isn't great.

2) He is training for a SWAT comp. I don't know when yet or what sort of events they use but I assume they are all similar. I will get more detail soom.

3) He is kind of intimidated by the young guys who are all in good shape and is worried they are going to wipe the floor with him.

What kind of training program whould you put him on? Should he be concerned with maximal strength? Endurance? Strength endurance?

Here's what I was thinking just to get this started. Strength endurance will probably be at least as important as max strength. I would not spend too much energy on the weight training.

Here's what I think would be essential exercises: Chins, dips, power cleans, push presses, deadlifts, single leg exercises.

Here is how is an example of how I would set it up:

Mon -
A1 chins
A2 push press or DB military press

B1 deadlifts
B2 dips

Tues - GPP
sandbag power clean + press
wheelbarrow walk

Wed - low intensity energy system work
jogging EFX, etc for time

A1 overhead squats
A2 barbell lunges

B1 DB bench press
B2 bb rows

Fri - GPP
sledgehammer striking
sandbag lift and carry

Sat - HIIT
100m sprints + walks

Sun - off day