T Nation

Surge PWO Drink - Discuss

I’d like to get some discussion about Surge going…

I’ve been using Surge as my PWO recovery drink for a few months now and I’ve been very happy with the recovery results. Delayed soreness doesn’t take me down a notch like it used to.

I previously would prioritize movements/lifts to the beginning of the week because I couldn’t get the best bang for the buck out of them later in the week. Since I’ve used Surge this hasn’t been as much of an issue.

So, I do need to hand it to Surge.

Question though: What is Surge giving me that say a quality protein mix is NOT going to give me. For instance…I take Optimum’s 100% Whey and put it next to Surge and serving for serving they appear nearly identical. Both have quality fast absorbing protein, 5G BCCAs, etc.

Again, I’m happy with Surge, but on a sheer cost basis, why shouldn’t I consider something else?

Of course, I don’t believe I’ve ever had the same results from other PWO protocols.

Hopefully we can get some good discussion about people’s experiences with Surge here.

BOTTOM LINE: I’m a fan of the BIOSTEST products and I want to support them and this site, which has been a huge knowledge base for my weight training progression.

[quote]jeromeTERRIBLE wrote:

Question though: What is Surge giving me that say a quality protein mix is NOT going to give me. For instance…I take Optimum’s 100% Whey and put it next to Surge and serving for serving they appear nearly identical. Both have quality fast absorbing protein, 5G BCCAs, etc.

[/quote]

To keep it really short, the glucose in Surge is what causes the insulin spike to drive the nutrients into the muscles for repair. You won’t get that from just whey.

So if he were to throw some glucose in with his whey product it would replicate Surge’s PWO effect?

Everything about these products is different.

The protein your using does not have added BCAAs, whereas Surge does.