Supplements, Steroids, Oh My!

First of all, sorry if this is in the incorrect forum. I’ve been browsing this site after working out for about a couple of months, and a thought came to my mind. Currently, and forever, I use only one supplement-whey protein (unless you count B-Complex vitamins, Multivitamin, Vitamin C, and Fish Oil as supplementation).

I’m working very hard in the gym, 7 days a week at 50+ hour manual labor job to show people that with a balanced, correct diet and hard work you can achieve the physique you want (Albeit, I’m not sure about a Ronnie Coleman physique of course).

Do you think that once I achieve a popular physique* people will realize that you don’t need to get things too complicated with overzealous amounts of supplements(I wonder if the Greeks used NO-XPLODE or Andriol) or steroids? Perhaps I will end up failing in my attempt of doing so?

In the gist of this, it’s a question. Do we really need all of this supplements/steroid use? By the way, keep the responses mature-If I wanted to hear “ur teh suck” I’d go to some other website. I just want to hear different opinions on the matter.

*Like that of Arnold or other popular bodybuilders.

[quote]Fulmen wrote:
*Like that of Arnold or other popular bodybuilders.[/quote]

You won’t get the body of Arnold with a normal lifestyle and without steroids. Arnold used steroids, and he had unbelievable genetics, so how do you expect anyone to attain that kind of development without drugs?

Side note: of your list, protein powder is the only one I would consider NOT to be a supplement. It is food. The others are supplements.

Yes and no.

Also, it doesn’t seem wise to lump supplement use in with steroids.

I don’t think you can get ahnold’s body without super genetics and some drug use. But that doesn’t mean you can’t have a great body. You can attain a great body with the things you take, but it takes time and a much closer attention to your diet, training and recovery. It is possible though.