Supplements for a Poor Person

Currently I have started a fat loss exercise/nutrition plan. My question is what supplements should I use? What are the ones I should definitely take, and dosages? All im trying to do is burn the fat, and im a student, so i just scrape by week to week with money, but I plan to use my extra money for some supplements. Any advice?

Protein is essential, for sure. But you can get that from chicken/tuna/eggs/milk/etc. Protein powder nowadays is getting expensive. As long as you have a solid diet, you shouldn’t need anything else. But if I was on a budget, this is probably what I would spend it on:

Protein whey powder (40-50 bucks/month)

• a scoop and a half PWO, about 30g of protein

bulk (costco) fish oil (300 softgels @ 10-15 per month)

• 5 pills (with a meal) 3x a day should be good

loose leaf green tea in bulk ($15/month?)

• 2 to 3 cups a day, hot brewed, non of that iced crap

Biotest creatine sold here ($13 will probably last you 3 months)

• 5g a day PWO, just mix it in your protein shake

Protein powder or fish oil…no need to waste any money that you don’t have.

Supplements aren’t needed, they aren’t worth the money, especially if your poor.

I would just buy more milk or peanut butter, theres nothing magical about whey or bcaa’s etc. Just eat like a normal person with a balanced diet, a normal person who is bigger “or smaller depending on goals” and you will be set.

The articles here about diet/fat loss will do you way more good than supps. Get you eating in order for your goals make some good progress and then thingk about"supplementing" you plan.

Here’s a good place to start: (also read Berardi’s articles)

http://www.T-Nation.com/readArticle.do?id=1615551

cueball

[quote]Uber N3wb wrote:
Supplements aren’t needed, they aren’t worth the money, especially if your poor.