T Nation

Supplements/Food to Avoid on TRT?

Hey all,
I’m new to all this and been reading like a madman.

I’ve recently been put on TRT by doc and was wondering, are there any foods or supplements that should always be AVOIDED when on TRT ?

Thanks so much for any responses!

JH

Now that your body does not work right on auto pilot and along with aging, you need to do a number of things to maintain your vitality. When you don’t take such things for granted any more, you can see the value of general supplements, better diet and nutrition, fish oil, olive oil, fresh veges, dietary iodine, trace minerals, calcium, magnesium and some functional medicine as need. And lots of sex, that is good for the neural transmitters.

What to avoid should be obvious. Many foods are empty from a nutrient point of view. There are bad fats, at least bad when in excess or when good fats are not also present. You need to avoid glucose spikes from high glucemic index meals. Glucose binding to proteins is one of the irreversible processes of aging and that is why poorly controlled diabetes leads to so many life threatening conditions.

Some meals encourage GH release, others block GH release. Too much for this post.

Avoid drugs that reduce E2 clearance rates. Smoking… go kill yourself.

And proper physical activity to keep things working.

All that makes great sense. Poor nutritional value foods, smoking etc all very obvious to me.

I guess I was looking for “specific” supplements, like… Don’t take DHA supplement (I think that would be obvious as we dont’ want our DHT to be further elevated but I could be wrong). O

This might be the right place to ask, has anyone else found that 8-10 onces of soy milk a day to be a problem with their E2. I have been having trouble getting my E2 down even on 1mg of Arimidex EOD and I was told that the soy milk that I was using for my protien shakes was possible the problem. Anyone else have first hand experience with this problem.