Supplements and Prenatal Vitamins

Bron,
I am new to power lifting, although I’ve been athletic my whole life. Last year I learned basic lifts, but only started really training about 6 weeks ago. I see that you have children, so I was just wondering if you took normal Prenatal vitamins and if you continued taking supplements and training while pregnant.

I’m not planning on getting pregnant until for about a year so that I can reach my fitness and professional goals, but my Dr recommended I start taking Prenatal vitamins now. Thanks for your help! I’ve really enjoyed following this thread.

Hi Megan!

Thanks for posting. I’m happy to hear you’re getting into powerlifting, it’s so much fun and you’re going to love it! I have been an athlete my whole life as well and I really wanted to get back into a competitive sport so powerlifting was a perfect option for me.

Funny you ask about prenatal vitamins, I took them throughout my pregnancies and I still take them now (not planning on another baby but I like my prenatal vitamins) my hair, nails and skin are so much better when I use them regularly.

I took supplements while I was pregnant as well, no stimulants for obvious reasons but I continued to use Flameout for my omegas and Metabolic Drive for a protein source. Most supplements will give you a warning on the back about pregnant or breast feeding women but you can double check with your doctor or midwife (when you are pregnant) and see what they recommend. The thing about pregnancy is EVERYONE has their own opinions about what you should and shouldn’t do… Just like training, everyone has their own theories and systems that they think are the best. I went with how my body felt and if I had any concerns my midwife was just a phone call away!